Apple-Mint Jelly

 

Apple Jelly

I grew up eating my mother’s homemade apple jelly, and nothing tastes better on toast as far as I’m concerned. This year I was able to get a bag of fresh apples from my sister-in-law’s tree in Manitoba (yeah, I had to drive there, pick them and drive back, but it was worth it). I decided today that I would make some apple jelly, but I wanted to add a twist: mint. Many things go well with apples – ginger, lemon, cloves – so use your imagination when creating your own designer jelly.

Apple-Mint Jelly

I am not an expert jelly-maker, and this should not be taken as the definitive recipe for apple jelly. Use with caution.

This recipe can be adjusted for the amount of apples you have. For every 2 1/2 cups of strained juice, add 1 lb of sugar.

Wash and cut up the apples. Place them in a large stock pot and just cover with water. Add the juice of two lemons. Place several stems of mint in a muslin bag and tie, then add this to pot.

Bring the apples to a boil and simmer for an hour. Strain the juice using a jelly bag, but do not press the fruit. Test for pectin content (more information here ) and add more pectin of necessary. I added two packages to my juice.

Mix the juice and white sugar (in my case I had 15 cups of juice so I added 6 lbs of sugar) in a clean stock pot and bring to a boil. Boil rapidly until the set point is reached (more information here ), then remove the pot from the stove and skim the jelly if necessary.

Pour the jelly into sterile hot jars and cover. If the jars do not seal properly or if you are not using sealers, you can pour wax on top of the jelly once it has set.

One thought on “Apple-Mint Jelly

  1. Mona says:

    You know, you very much amaze me! I could even make jelly, you make it look so easy…not that I ever would, but, I could.

Leave a Reply

