Seedy Sunday 2011

Seeds from Edmonton's Seedy Sunday

This year Edmonton’s Seedy Sunday was held at the Alberta Avenue Community Hall on 118th Avenue. It’s an opportunity for city gardeners to get together and share their ideas, accomplishments and of course, their seeds. 

The City of Edmonton had representatives on hand as did the Edmonton Horticultural Society (EHS). There were plenty of seed suppliers and of course my favourite – the seed exchange. I picked up some Blanket Flower seeds (Gaillardia Glandiflora) and some Winter Lettuce to sow directly outdoors as soon as the soil warms in my frigid garden.

I also bought a package of Oriental Greens Mix by Harmonic Herbs (what a great company name!). I thought this mix might be awesome in a planter next to the back door for a supply of quick flavourful greens to add to summer salads.

I picked up a couple of cloves of Korean garlic to try out this year. I already have several elephant garlic planted last fall, but this will be a nice addition for a more zesty flavored garlic.

I was given a sample of Seed and Sea, an organic fertilizer blend produced locally by Alberta Organic Garden Ltd. I’m going to test it on my garden in the spring and report back about my experience. Apparently it’s a balanced mixture with not only NPK, but additional micro and macronutients which will make our gardens grow more rapidly. 

Seedy Sunday always has interesting speakers, and I wish I had been around to hear Dustin Bajer. Dustin coordinates a sustainable garden at Jasper Place School, teaching the importance of permaculture and environmental stewardship to his students. 

I’d love to see Seedy Sunday become bigger – grow if you will – to incorporate more variety of product and displays. I guess that the more people hear about it, the more interest there will be and the further it will expand.

Personally I’m going to do my part to increase local awareness by joining the Edmonton Horticultural Society and participating in (and blogging about) the programs, speakers and tours they have to offer.

Seed & Sea Fertilizer

Leave a Reply

