Planting my Lilies

Last fall my sister-in-law in Manitoba gave me a couple dozen lily bulbs that she had dug up from her garden and didn’t need any more. Ideally it would have been good to plant them last fall, but I wanted to place them in the new bed I created in my front yard through the Sheet Mulching Workshop.

I decided to store the bulbs in a cardboard box, carefully layered with plenty of sawdust between bulbs. I then stored the box in my basement in the coolest spot I could find.

This week I pulled the box out and found that most of the bulbs appear to have survived their winter in the dark, at least as far as I could tell. I shook the sawdust off and took them out front to their potential new home.

Much of the sheet mulched material in the top two or three inches hasn’t degraded much – probably because it would have been the first to freeze. I dug down six to eight inches, added a layer of potting soil, then a bulb, and covered it with another layer of soil. Finally, I moved the still-decomposing material over top of the bulbs and hid them from view.

Now it’s a matter of waiting and watching. I don’t expect flowering lilies this year, but even a bit of green would make me happy. The anticipation of waiting to discover what color they might be is half the fun… isn”t it?

 

 

One thought on “Planting my Lilies

Leave a Reply

