Rabbits?

Isn’t it Cute?

Rabbits. Fuzzy little cotton-tailed cuties.

I’m so proud of my new garden space I created by sheet-mulching last fall. But as they say, “Pride cometh before a fall” and it looks like I won’t be getting any beans this fall.

Something or someone has been nibbling away on my beans, leaving spindly little stalks that have no chance of survival. After finishing off most of the beans, they moved on to my cosmos flowers.

My Beans Have Been Attacked

I suspect rabbits, but I haven’t actually caught them in the act. When I do I’ll unleash the wrath of Lucy (the Lucinator as she is known in dog circles) upon them and frighten them to the bottom of their souls.

My Cosmos Have Been Ravaged

In the meantime, I replanted my beans and am hoping for the best. Sigh.

3 thoughts on “Rabbits?

  1. bobbarnetson says:

    That’s a shame. We have lots of rabbits but haven’t noticed any damage except to the fruit trees in the spring (which I now cage). Perhaps they are content with the clover fields that i call my lawn?

  2. It’s early times, you may be amazed at how well those beans can recover.

    If it were my yard, I’d say the damage was due to deer. We’ve built cages around our raised beds (made of 2×4 and hardware cloth) so that the deer can’t get to anything. And since this year we also have rabbits (for the first time in eleven years), the cages take care of both issues at once. lol

    If you don’t want to go to the time and expense of making cages, you might try throwing some row cover over those things that need protection.

Leave a Reply

