Tomatillo Flowers

Tomatillos are a tomato-like plant, sometimes called the Mexican Tomato, which produce a green fruit used to make Salsa Verde. Mmmm…Salsa Verde.

Tomatillo Flowers

The fruit grow within a paper husk called the calyx. When the calyx dries up, the fruit is ready to be picked.

This is the first year that I have grown tomatillos, and so far everything is looking good. They seem to be very hardy and robust.

I’m hoping for ample pollination of my eight plants and I’m hoping for enough fruit to make several jars of fresh salsa.

5 thoughts on “Tomatillo Flowers

  1. Megan says:

    Hi,

    I’m so glad to hear that you have grown tomatillos in Edmonton successfully. I am a HUGE salsa verde fan so I’m hoping to start growing my own tomatillos this summer or next. Unfortunately I had little lick germinating my own seeds. Do you happen to know if I can buy the plants anywhere in the city?

    THANKS!

    • I’ve never seen bedding plants in edmonton. I started mine from seed in March along with my tomatoes and peppers. It might be too late for this season if you haven’t started them already.

      • Megan says:

        I have one successfully growing but don’t have another for pollination! If you see any as bedding plants somewhere around the city PLEASE let me know!
        THANKS!

  2. Megan says:

    So I called around, Arch Gardens still has some and Kuhlmann’s usually carries them but is out for the season.
    YEY!

  3. Megan says:

    Hi gardeninggrrl and (i think) another Megan,

    Thanks for the help last year! Now that I’m starting seedlings and planning y 2015 garden I’m wondering what other local gardeners experiences have been with growing Tomatillos. I grew two plants last year (purchased from Arch Gardens). They seemed to require quite a lot of work (in terms of constant watering), take up A TON of space in my limited garden and then not produce a whole lot of fruit. I’m not sure they’re entirely worth it again this year. Any tips?

    I made some salsa verde with them but had to mix in quite a lot of green tomatoes (I think I used green zebras) to up the volume. It did turn out very well though.

    Thanks in advance for any and all help!

Leave a Reply

