Refrigerator Pickles: Yum

Refrigerator Pickles 2012

Heck, why haven’t I made these before? Well, I guess the answer is obvious – I’ve never had enough cucumbers to spare. But this year has been fabulous for my cucs and I’ve been able to eat them fresh every day and still have plenty for a batch of pickles.

Here’s my recipe (adapted from myrecipes.com)

Refrigerator Pickles

2 lbs cucumbers, sliced thin (I use my mandolin)
2 medium onions, sliced thin (about 2 cups)
3 cups white vinegar
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon mustard seeds
1 teaspoon celery seeds
1 teaspoon ground turmeric
1 teaspoon crushed red pepper (I used dried Serrano peppers from last year, finely chopped)
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
8-10 garlic cloves, thinly sliced

Layer the cucumbers and onions in a large bowl. Bring the remaining ingredients to a boil on the stove and simmer for one minute. Pour the liquid over the cucs; don’t worry if not all are submersed – they will be in a few hours.

Place the bowl in the refrigerator for a minimum of 24 hours before dividing the pickles and placing them in jars. These must be stored in the fridge, as they have not been processed. Don’t worry, they won’t last long.

One thought on “Refrigerator Pickles: Yum

Leave a Reply

