DIY Solar Garden Lights

Solar Lamp

Solar Lamp

Solar Lamp at Night

Solar Lamp at Night

I can’t take credit for this idea – it’s been on Pinterest and I’m sure it’s on other websites as well. Still, every time I do a garden décor project I add my own twist, which depends on local availability of the core ingredients.

This time I’m making hanging solar garden lamps. What makes them special is that they are made from old 1930s – 1950s ceiling light covers. These were very popular in their day, but are now found at flea markets and thrift stores for a song. Mine were purchased for $1 each.

I tried to choose covers that had a rim at the top, a reasonably flat bottom and lots of bevelling on the walls. I found five that I felt suited the project.

Using inexpensive wire, I wrapped around the top rim and formed a “basket handle” from which the lamp could be hung. I inserted an inexpensive solar light (on sale Canadian Tire for $1 each) which I fixed in place with double sided sticky tape.

Instant glamour for the evening garden.

Leave a Reply

