For the Birds: Strands of Yarn for Nesting

I knit. A lot.

Anyone who knits will tell you there are many feet of leftovers – bits of yarn cut off from one end or another of a project and thrown in the trash.

I have a hard time throwing things in the trash.

I used to think that all of those little scraps of yarn really served no purpose, until I thought of the birds outside who might like a piece or two for their nest. That’s when I found a package of six grapevine balls that I could stuff full of yarn scraps. The six balls cost me $1. Now whenever I fill one up I give it to a friend to put in their backyard.

The birds can thank me by not eating my pea shoots this spring.

20130301-154018.jpg

20130301-154030.jpg

20130301-154503.jpg

One thought on “For the Birds: Strands of Yarn for Nesting

Leave a Reply

