Tomato Wars

Mamma Mia Tomatoes

Mamma Mia Tomatoes

This year I am pitting three of my Roma tomato plants against each other in a head-to-head competition.

Having read about the benefits of fish heads for tomato plants, I thought I’d give them a small scale (pardon the pun) trial in my garden. I’m also a big fan of worm castings as fertilizer, so I got my hands on some nice fresh worm poop to use as well.

Here’s what I did:

I dug three equally deep holes and planted three of my Mamma Mia tomatoes which I started from seed. In one hole I put two fresh trout heads, four crushed egg shells, six crushed baby aspirin and a small scoop of bone meal. In the second hole I put about a cup of vermicompost. In the last hole I put a small scoop of standard 10-52-10 fertilizer.

Fish heads, egg shells, bone meal and aspirin

Fish heads, egg shells, bone meal and aspirin

Worm castings

Worm castings

 

Standard fertilizer

Standard fertilizer

Let the games begin! I’ll keep you posted.

One thought on “Tomato Wars

Leave a Reply

