New Upside Down Tomato Planters

One of my new tomato planters

One of my new tomato planters

A few years ago I made my own upside down tomato planters from fabric and wire baskets. They ended up working fabulously well and lasted for 3 seasons, but this spring I decided that they were looking a little worn out. Time for new planters.

I took three pails which I already had and drilled a one inch hole in the bottom of each. Then I drilled out a spot where there had once been a handle and used a coat hanger to make a new handle. I decided that the red color wasn’t right, so I spray painted them in a new moss green.

To place the tomato plants in the pail I first wrapped them with saran wrap, then gently poked them through the hole until they were safely through. I added soil and adjusted until the plants were at the correct depth. After adding more moisture control soil, I  planted a wave petunia on top. Overall I think the new planters turned out pretty well and they cost me only $10 for the paint (which I could have done without).

Pails

Pails

Drilling holes
Drilling holes

Add the coat hanger
Add the coat hanger

Wrap and insert the tomato plant
Wrap and insert the tomato plant

Add a petunia and voila
Add a petunia and voila

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “New Upside Down Tomato Planters

Leave a Reply

