Installing Drip Irrigation

This raised bed now has a regular supply of water from a nearby rain barrel
.
A few years ago my brother bought me a bunch of tubing and connectors to set up a drip irrigation system. The components made it to my garage but I was intimidated by all the little parts and by what appeared to be complicated instructions.
We had a few days of rain this week so I decided that it was time to pull everything out and have a go at designing an irrigation system for my two raised vegetable beds.It turned out I had ample materials for one raised bed, but I needed a few more connectors for the other. I was able to find what I needed at Lee Valley Tools.

I began with 1/2" hose, 1/4" tubing, compression fittings and 1/4" hose connectors
Hoses and connectors
1/4″ connectors: straight, elbow and T
Punching holes
I cut all of the pieces I needed
Then began to connect them all
.
Basically I began with a compression connector which connects the male end of my regular hose to the 1/2″ irrigation hose. Then once I determined the length of the 1/2″ hose I needed (just short of 5′) I cut it off and applied another compression connector with an end cap.
I punched 10 holes in the 1/2″ hose at 12″ intervals, 5 on each side. Into those holes I inserted a straight barbed connector attached to a 23 1/2″ piece of 1/4″ drip tubing. A the other end of each of these pieces of drip tubing I used additional connectors and several 11 1/2″ pieces of tubing to make a loop system. 
 
A Y-splitter gives both raised beds access to the rain barrel
Quick connector makes taking the hose off easy
I made my own hooks to secure the tubing
.
Shepherd’s hooks were fashioned from clothes hanger wire and used to secure the tubing in place in the soil.
I attached a Y-splitter to my rain barrel so that I could water both beds at the same time. I also added some quick connectors to the hoses so that I could disconnect them when they weren’t in use. Because this is system isn’t connected to a potable water source I didn’t install a backflow preventer. 
 
Because the water pressure is minimal, I didn’t concern myself with a pressure regulator. I would consider at minimum the backflow preventer if I had it attached to my home water supply.
 
The final outcome is a drip irrigation system that uses rain water and gravity
Leave a Reply

