Black From Tula Tomato and Other Yummy Things

The Black From Tula Tomato is a heritage tomato that originated in Tula, Russia. We’re it up to me, I might have given it an easier name to remember.

The fruit can grow as large a 5-6″ in diameter and they darken to a purple-black color as they ripen. Apparently they have a smoky taste, but I’ve yet to try one. I’m giving this tomato a few more days on the vine before I devour it.
Tumbler tomatoes are packed with fabulous flavor. The fruit mature quickly on compact plants well suited to containers. I’ve already taken 4 lbs of tomatoes off of this one plant pictured above.
This is a pumpkin, or so I’ve been told. I have no idea whether it will mature before frost, as I’ve never tried to grow them here before.
I’ve decided to grow cucumbers on a trellis this year in hopes of keeping the bugs off the fruit. So far so good 🙂
4 thoughts on “Black From Tula Tomato and Other Yummy Things

  1. I hav had zero luck getting a pumpkin to come to anything meaningful in edmonton. Great vines and large flowers but it just never seems to get going fast enough to yield fruit before it freezes.

  2. Laura says:

    I’ve done a pumpkin! I purchased the plant from a greenhouse, The vines spread crazy-everywhere! and we had one beautiful medium sized pumpkin. I had to put newspaper underneath so it wouldn’t mold outside on the cold, wet, september/october dirt and it ‘oranged’ half way in the house.
    Question for you, I have 2 roma tomato plants heavy with green tomatoes. My m-i-l said to thin the branches to let the sunshine in to ripen, ever heard of this?

Leave a Reply

