Deep Feeding my Tomatoes

I like to get water and nutrients deep into the soil beneath my tomato plants. This encourages a strong root system and a more sturdy plant overall. Plus, a deep watering means I don’t have to worry as much about the plant drying out on those hottest of summer days.

Just a juice bottle

Just a juice bottle

I use a juice bottle with the end cut off and the top removed.

Bury the bottle

Bury the bottle

I like to add some compost to the feeding bottle. Occasionally I add Epsom salts this way as well, providing the plants with much needed magnesium.

Compost added

Compost added

Just add water and let that absorb over the next several hours.

Just add water

Just add water

 

4 thoughts on “Deep Feeding my Tomatoes

    • Thank you! I’m flattered. Gardening doesn’t have to be all about buying expensive fertilizers and specially formulated soils. It’s about keeping true to the old and common sense ways. These are the things we need to pass on to future generations. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

