High Bush Cranberries Almost Ready to Pick

I was walking in the Edmonton river valley this morning and I saw that there seem to be plenty of high bush cranberries this year.

IMG_2328.JPG

The beauty of these berries is that they are free, easy to pick, and delicious in jellies, smoothies and ketchups.

I’m not going to tell you precisely where I saw lots on the trees, but the Edmonton river valley should be able to provide enough for all of us. The key is to pick them when they’re ripe (I estimate next week), but not to wait too long or someone else might steal your secret stash.

2 thoughts on “High Bush Cranberries Almost Ready to Pick

  1. Sylvia says:

    Hi, Came across your blog while searching balcony gardens. Upon scrolling down I see you talk about the high bush cranberries in Edmonton. Perhaps you were in my berry patch where I’ve picked for many years. Not many folks pick these berries. Last year the City put a bicycle trail through the area.

Leave a Reply

