Product Review: LawnLift Grass Paint

LawnLift Grass Paint

A few years ago I was lamenting the fact that I couldn’t find a grass paint product in Canada. As the owner of a dog I’d really love to find something to mask those ugly brown spots that result from a winter of urinating repeatedly on the same area of the lawn.
In response to the lack of products available, I tried to make my own homemade lawn paint and I must admit I was less than successful.
Well, this year I was approached by the Canadian distributor of LawnLift and advised that indeed there is now a grass paint available in Canada! It’s available currently on amazon.ca, but their Canadian website is in the works and I’ll post an update as soon as its available.
The LawnLift starter kit comes with a 237 ml (8 oz) bottle of concentrate, a measuring cup and a sprayer. The concentrate is diluted 10-1 with water, mixed in the sprayer and applied directly to the lawn. Pretty simple stuff, in fact it was easier to apply and not as messy to use as I thought it would be.  Average drying time is 30 minutes, but it’s best not to let pets out for an hour (unless you like green paws).
LawnLift is not a lawn repair, it’s a non-toxic lawn paint. It doesn’t encourage grass growth nor does it hinder it, it’s just meant to cover unsightly dead spots or brighten the appearance of a lawn that isn’t thriving. It’s claim to fame is that LawnLift is 100% safe for the environment and 100% biodegradable. The result can last for several months depending on the weather and growth conditions – when sprayed on actively growing grass it will be gone after the grass has been mowed a few times.
I took some before pictures and sprayed a number of spots in my backyard using the kit I received in the mail. I took some after photos for comparison.
Before
After: Not fooling anybody but better looking than dead grass
Before
After: In the shady spots the outcome is pretty natural looking
Before
After: Not dramatic but a subtle improvement here that looks better in person
Before
After: Definite improvement
 
Overall, my impression was good. I think that the dead patches certainly don’t draw the eye directly to them like they did when they were a stark brown color.
It did seem as though I went through a lot of paint to cover up the few spots where I applied it. I’m going to use the last 1/3 of the bottle on an area in my front yard.
I’ll also be doing a follow up in a few weeks time to show how the LawnLift paint is doing.
For more information about LawnLift in Canada, contact nlundy@lawnlift.ca

3 thoughts on “Product Review: LawnLift Grass Paint

  1. If you are planmning on landscaping a small area, you shouldn’t have any problems doing this small
    project yourself. It can perform a great job on the areas that
    the mower can’t reach, such as around fruuit trees, near
    fences, beside patios, and many other places.
    An empty niche provides an opportunity for another life form to
    fill the space.

  2. Joanne Pinata says:

    I’m interested in lawn paint but not for my lawn. Can you tell me if it would work on an outdoor potted majesty palm?

    I think its getting more sunlight then it should but it’s the centerpiece of my garden and would hate to remove it. The fronds are starting to yellow but its definitely not from over watering. Can you provide some on this product? Thank you.

    • I have nothing to recommend. I don’t think it’s wise to try to artificially change the color of plant, I don’t think it would tolerate it. Better to try to find what’s causing the yellowing.

Leave a comment