Homemade Grass Paint

I was thinking…why don’t they make spray paint for the lawn so that I can paint the bare spots in the spring until they fill in?

Well, it turns out they do make grass paint; the problem is that I can’t find any in Canada. If it exists here, I don’t know where.

Update: Check out this info here and here about Lawnlift grass paint available now in Canada

So my next thought was, why not make it myself? It can’t be too difficult…right. Well, yes and no. I found a recipe for grass paint, but I’m afraid it didn’t turn out quite as nicely as I had hoped. I really wanted something that worked like that spray-on hair product that you could buy a few years ago – except waterproof…and green. Well, it looks slightly better than nothing, and perhaps with some rain those bare spots will fill in a little more rapidly than they would on their own. I’ll keep you posted.

Here’s the recipe:

2 lbs lawn fertilizer

4 lbs epsom salts

1/4 cup green food coloring

10 thoughts on “Homemade Grass Paint

  1. Bolo says:

    uh you forgot to add 5 gallons of water to that mixer then spray it not sprinkle it LOL.. i don’t ue salt or fertilizer during the summer heat just 1 gallon of food dye to 1o gallons of water ! salt and fertilizer in heatwave not good ideal will burn !…but in fall spring yes add the nutrients otherwise 1 gallon of food coloring can be bought on online ! i buy blue 1 gallon and 1 gallon of green to get a darker color like Kentucky blue grass !

Leave a comment